Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tomato Expert

Tomato Expert

Is it too early to talk 'maters? I have been thinking on it since last August.

I am not a tomato expert, but Chuck is.
    For decades I have been growing more than I can eat, but this year going for better quality and quantity.

Having little Sun in my yard, have been growing them in pots on my dock for years. I have a 12v pump run by solar there and so lots of free water. I have not thought too much yet on a way to auto irrigate there, but my mind is working on it. I see one kit that could use a rain barrel, but it is too expensive. Suggestions are welcome and encouraged.

Chuck also grows on his dock. He has been doing better than me. I am not sure why as I have more Sun.
    Here is Chuck years back:
    Name:  P7120107.jpg
Views: 826
Size:  116.1 KB

Here is Chuck now after he improved his dock garden:

Name:  P1010139.jpg
Views: 866
Size:  137.2 KB

Name:  P1010140.jpg
Views: 867
Size:  128.1 KB

Chuck uses these pots which are 18" L x 18" W x 15" H:

Name:  82001-3_1.jpg
Views: 797
Size:  14.2 KB
    The Reservoir holds 2.5 Gallons of water and about 2 cu. ft of soil.

I ordered in 5 of the "Chuck Planters" last Fall. I have always used similar home made and store bought pots as the water reservoir is needed for pot growing. Even then, daily water is needed.

As my needs are different from Chuck am building supports for them differently. Pot separation is best, but I lack space. To that end my cage will be single file and 8' long.
    I am going to use PVC pipe as it is cheap, strong, and light.
    I am using 1 1/2" PVC because I already have joints for that. Cross rods will be garden stakes.
    I hope to do a good job.

Chuck has made some great wire cages for his, I am going with less suport (lazy) and so will need more tying.

Soil is important.
    Tomatoes are big feeders.
    Extra calcium is a plus. PH of around 6-7 so the plants can soak up nutrients they need is a plus.