PDA

View Full Version : New Fish

AgentOrange
09-01-2016, 05:23 PM
Oh Crap !!!

My life has been off kilter for a few days and may not recover.
Things out of my control are afoot.
I should be scared shitless, but am strangely calm.

So, I bought some fish critters.:congratulatory:
Buying fish through the mail seems WTF? but it is the only way where I am.

My 150 tank has been healthy for 15 years now (and even before it and I arrived here). I have been a student for all my life as to keeping fish in a bowl.
In addition to learning (which most ignore), equipment has improved.

The basic rules never will or can change. Either you support a system that is in the 'nitrogen cycle' or you do not. Most do not and never will:Oh Hell.

All want clear water, and that is mechanical and chemical.
I actually have had the top of the line FLUVAL offering for months and have never hooked in as no need.

Water chemistry is very important, but most don't go thereMoon1.

Two things I have come upon that are 'better', and make fish keeping easier are the Pinpoint PH Meter and Seachem Purigen.
I would say if you are not willing in these times to go there, then don't bother with an aquarium? It can be done, and I did it for decades, but WHY??

So, I have 9 new fish coming in via FedEx:eagerness:. I like to buy in 3's as I like pairs and one might croak. I don't mean male/female as I no longer have the energy to deal with breeding (at one time had a dozen breeding tanks).

All advice or questions would be interesting.

TOAD
09-02-2016, 06:54 PM
I have a big galvanized tub of the kind one might use to feed farm animals that sits under the eve of my house to catch rain water.
It is in a protected corner of the house and is shaded by a large fig tree, all the bird like to drink out of it.
I put my leftover minnows from fishing trips in it..fishin' They seem to fair pretty well living off mosquito larva between trips.

Does this count? :Pondering

AgentOrange
09-02-2016, 08:02 PM